Crane is governed by a self perpetuating board of trustees who are responsible for the overall strategic vision and financial well-being of the school. The Head of School manages the day-to-day operations with the support of two divisional heads (Lower School and Upper School) as well as an administrative and teaching staff. Student Council consists of five eighth-grade students who are chosen by their Upper School peers to lead student efforts at Crane School.

Board of Trustees

Leading the Way

Trustees are custodians of the institution, ensuring Crane’s mission, strategic vision, and financial well-being are carried out. In addition, the board hires, supervises, and provides counsel to the head of school. The board is comprised of a diverse group of current and past parents, alumni, and community members, each offering an essential voice that ensures Crane continues to provide an inclusive and supportive place for everyone in the school’s community.

Trustees follow the National Association of Independent School’s Principles and Practices for Independent School Boards and is governed by bylaws. The full board meets approximately eight times each year.

The board has nine standing committees: Audit & Risk, Buildings & Grounds, Committee on Trustees, Development, Diversity & Inclusion, Executive, Finance, Head Support & Evaluation, and Investment.

Nominations for membership to the board are accepted at any time from any member of the Crane community and are reviewed by the Committee on Trustees and presented to the full board for approval.

Review the Strategic and Master Plans for Crane School: Strategic & Master Plans


Jill Levinson, President Jim Copus '92, Vice President
Rick Banks '62, Treasurer Nancy Sheldon, Secretary




Jen Abed Tamar Adegbile  Andrea (DeRosso) Alfano Kevin Brine
Beth Collins Will Freeland '00 Paul Gauthier Cyndee Howard
Robin Kopeikin Bino Marsetti Sarah Muzzy Hikaru Phillips
Guille Gil Reynoso Allan Rogers Erin Eberhardt Spence Christina Stoney
Carrie Towbes Melissa White    





Honorary Lifetime Trustee

Scott Brittingham

Honorary Board Advisors

Don Cook Erin Guerra Elizabeth Keadle Susan McMillan
Gayle Sandell Peggy Smith Joel Weiss Debbie Williams
Andres Wood      

Administrative Team

It's All About Teamwork

The administrative team includes the head of school, divisional heads, director of finance & operations, director of development, and director of admission. They work collaboratively to manage the day-to-day operations of the school and implement the goals set forth in the strategic plan.

Head of School: Joel Weiss
Director of Finance & Operations: Don Cook
Director of Admission: Erin Guerra ’88
Head of Lower School: Gayle Sandell
Head of Upper School: Peggy Smith
Director of Development: Debbie Williams

Student Leaders

We Lead by Example

Student Council consists of five eighth-grade students who are chosen by their peers to be the voice of the Upper School student body. The group addresses student-life issues, plans social events, coordinates fundraising efforts for student activities, and participates in community decision-making. The officers are also responsible for leading announcements each morning during assembly.

In addition to student council, there are leadership opportunities across grade levels for all students to lead by example. Our campus and schedule are designed to encourage interaction between all grade levels because we know that it will foster leadership in all of our students. Our Families program, Admission Ambassadors, service learning, and campus-wide green efforts are just a few examples of leadership opportunities for all students at Crane.